Droid Contacts are Stored on Google Servers Without Your Knowledge

0
635

Contacts and phone numbers are often stored on Google’s servers in your Gmail account, even if you don’t realize it. The phone does not give any indication of this and does not show a clear way to remove them for privacy. There is a way you can check for yourself and fix it, but it involves removing your contacts from Gmail and then manually adding them to the phone. You might need a pen and paper or be prepared to copy-and-paste your contacts to a temporary text file.

Follow these instructions very carefully:

Phase I:

  1. Log into the Gmail account that is associated with your phone.
  2. Click the Gmail logo. This will open a menu.
  3. Select ‘Contacts’ from the menu.
    IMPORTANT: From here, you will need to copy-and-paste all of the names and numbers to a text file or write them down. If you do not, you will lose them forever.
  4. Use the checkbox at the top to select all items.
  5. Click the ‘More’ box, then select ‘Delete contacts.’

Phase II:

  1. Go to your phone and tap the ‘menu’ button.
  2. Tap ‘Settings.’
  3. Tap ‘Accounts & sync’.
  4. Tap the ‘Sync all’ button at the bottom. Your phone will synchronize with Google and all contacts stored on their server will be removed. You must now use your notes where you wrote down (or pasted) the names and numbers to manually enter them back into your phone. Each time you enter a new number and are prompted where to store it, select ‘Phone.’ Do not select ‘Google.’ The same should be done for all the contacts you add in the future.